SpaceX and ISS docking, ETA 10 minutes!

By | May 25, 2012

Watch NASA's live feed as SpaceX Dragon approaches, and perhaps also docks with, ISS. Happening now.

Reshared post from +EuroTech

News Flash — Watch Live: SpaceX’s Dragon Rendezvous With the ISS
by +Alexander Becker, +EuroTech; Germany

Tune in to a live feed today, May 25 at 7 a.m. GMT or 8 a.m. CEST (May 24, 11 p.m. PDT) to witness the historical rendezvous between SpaceX’s Dragon capsule and the International Space Station.

The capsule is expected to come to its closest distance, just 32 feet from the ISS, which will be the position known as the capture point.

At that point, NASA decides if the Dragon is allowed to attempt berthing with the station. If so, it approaches and will be captured by station’s robotic arm at the Harmony node and attached to the station, a feat that requires extreme precision.

During the last days, Dragon’s sensors and flight systems were subjected to a series of complicated tests to determine if the vehicle is ready to berth with the space station; these tests included maneuvers and systems checks in which the vehicle came within 1.5 miles of the station.

Tune in live to see coverage of the station crew opening the hatch of the capsule and unloading its cargo.

Live Stream: http://www.ustream.tv/channel/6540154

More info:
http://www.nasa.gov/exploration/commercial/cargo/spacex_index.html
http://www.spacex.com/updates.php

Picture from: http://spacexlaunch.zenfolio.com/

_____________________________________________________
Show your support by plussing the page and sharing it with friends.
→ More +EuroTech news | http://zipl.us/eurotech/feed (RSS)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.